Ylizaville

Fall in love, fall in line

Posted in dem primary, oh FFS by yliza on April 15, 2008

The common political wisdom states that the primaries are the time for falling in love, while the general election is the time for falling in line. So we fall in love with our chosen primary candidate, but agree to support whomever wins the Democratic nomination.

Normally I wouldn’t have a problem with that. This is probably the most important presidential election of my lifetime, and I worry what this country will look like after 4 more years of Republican rule. And six months ago, I would have had no problem casting my vote for Hillary Clinton.

Not anymore. At some point, you have to stand up and say “No more.”

I’ve been watching the primaries closely. I will admit I was originally an Edwards supporter. I switched allegience to Obama shortly before the SC primary, mostly because his message of change is resonating more than I thought it would. But in the beginning I was pleased to have such a choice of candidates and I would have been thrilled to vote for any of them.

I found the way the Clinton campaign treated my home state of South Carolina appalling. Hillary lost, badly, so they tried to dismiss the result by painting Obama as a “Black candidate” . Since then, I’ve felt as if I’ve been thrown under the proverbial bus since I’m expected to fall in line once the primary is over. After all, I can’t vote Republican.

And it’s just getting worse. Between the Mark Penn scandal, Geraldine Fucking Ferraro (whom I supported as a VP candidate, I’m sorry to say), and the constant attempt to “blacken” Obama in the minds of White America, my head has been spinning. As is being said all over the blogosphere, I expected this from McCain, but not from the Clinton camp.

I simply refuse to reward this kind of slash-and-burn politics with my vote. If I want to see a change in the way we conduct politics in this country then at some point I have to stand up and say “This is not acceptable”, it’s the least I can do.

So if Hillary wins the Democratic nomination I will not vote for her. I have always felt she was too centrist for my taste, now I feel she’s too Republican. Maybe I’ll vote for Cynthia McKinney.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. work in dubai said, on March 23, 2009 at 10:03 am

    I didn’t know that in order to fall in love, you also have to fall in line. Nice analogy or is it irony?

  2. turn key profit said, on July 3, 2016 at 8:27 pm

    An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a coworker who was doing a
    little homework on this. And he in fact ordered me
    dinner simply because I discovered it for him…

    lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!

    But yeah, thanks for spending the time to discuss this matter here on your site.


Leave a Reply

