Ylizaville

Health Insurance with No Preventative Medicine (Updated)

Posted in oh FFS, Opinion by yliza on May 12, 2008

I recently discovered that our health insurance doesn’t cover preventative medicine. I found this out when we had to pay $1200 for a colonoscopy.

My mother actually had colon cancer, and a colonoscopy not only saved her life, it detected the cancer so early that she didn’t need chemotherapy after surgery. Now MY insurance company would rather pay for cancer treatment than screening. Because my mother had colon cancer I’m at higher risk than normal, and my doctor suggests a colonoscopy every 5 years rather than the usual 10. But if I want that screening I have to pay for it myself.

\Looks like I’m going to have to use a different method for cancer screening, namely Miss Thing. I’ve heard dogs can smell tumors. Can’t be any worse than relying on Blue Cross/Blue Shield.

Update: It’s a scam, a colonoscopy should be covered but Blue Cross/Blue Shield is trying to get away with filing it as a “wellness” procedure instead of preventative medicine. The hope is that I won’t challenge their refusal to pay. What an utterly dishonest way to make a profit.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gub said, on May 14, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    Insurance was, after all the first business organized crime got into to launder their money. Coincidence? I think not.

  2. yliza said, on May 14, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    I didn’t know that. I thought it was Union pension funds or some such, but I admit that my knowledge of organized crime is lacking. That is truly Food for Thought.

  3. DNLee said, on May 14, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    I hate insurance compnaies for that. School insurance is the WORST for that. You must go to campus Health first then get referred to a real doctor — just to qualify for them to pay for a visit. That means don’t get sick or hurt on the weekend or need emergency care.

    And routine check-ups weren’t covered either. What’s up with that. The data confirms that preventative care costs less and helps keep people healthier over time.

    They’re always looking a for a reason not to pay.

  4. yliza said, on May 15, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    DNLee welcome to ylizaville!

    I had no idea that university health insurance had gotten so bad. When I was in school you could at least get emergency care on weekends or holidays. They were never very good at preventative medicine, though, since students are generally too young to need things like colonoscopies and mammograms.

    I still can’t get over Gub’s illuminating comment about organized crime and insurance. It’s exactly the same today, only difference is there’s a new Don now (hint: his middle name starts with ‘W’).

  5. MIL said, on May 22, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    DIL, you’re right, that absolutely sucks. How about a different insurance company? There is also alternative medicine out there, if you can find a good practitioner. Wish I could wave a magic wand and make it all better. MIL


Leave a Reply

