Ylizaville

What A Woman Aspires To

Posted in Opinion by yliza on May 12, 2008

I read the Huffington Post to keep up with current events. On Mother’s Day, I was treated to this article.

Let’s see, now that I’m 50, the most important thing for me to do is to be a MILF. If I’m not sexually attractive to teenage boys I might as well just hang it up and move into the nursing home.

What utter bull. Is this what the feminist movement was about, being sexy after 40?

My entire life I’ve wanted to be recognized as a person, with a brain. I wanted to be attractive, sure, but I didn’t feel like it should be the most important thing in my life. Getting old has almost been a relief (except for the arthritis, ick) because I have a secure and loving marriage and I don’t care about being attractive to anyone but my husband.

And let’s not forget the obvious, that there are a lot more important things for women to be striving for than looking like an anorexic supermodel. Trivial things like feeding families, being protected from domestic violence, equal pay for equal work, and so on.

Our society doesn’t have much respect for women, especially older women.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. MIL said, on May 19, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    Yliza, DIL, so screw them. Who cares what they think, as long as we respect ourselves? Wait ’till you’re 60! It’s like being invisible, but I take comfort in that now, I take full advantage of it, I can drag myself out of the yard and drive to the hardware store for some emergency item (like deck stain or a lawn chair (yes, there can, too, be lawn chair emergencies)) without worrying too much about my filthy hands and knees or mussy hair (clamp a hat over it). Nobody looks at me anyway, and if they do they’ll just keep their distance – I kind of like it. Because I’m not trying to impress anyone anymore.

    Have you ever noticed those guys in the hardware store, picking up some emergency thing, dressed like bums, filthy hands, old ripped T-shirts, stubbly face, they’re sure not trying to impress anyone (at least I assume so). So why do women feel the need to look like a sex object in the same situation? Well I know the answer to that but I won’t get into it at this point.

    Yes, North American society in general runs on the Hollywood image phenomenon, so much crap. There are whole other planes of existance occurring. When one stops buying into that image thing, one can just drop it, let if fall away, it will disappear. Because it has no substance in reality anyway, people just think it does, which then seems to make it real – just because they think it does. It’s all in the mind.

    Who is one trying to impress anyway? I mean really. Fuck that crap, I say, fuck it.

    And so blah blah blah enough for now.

  2. yliza said, on May 19, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    I definitely hear you about men not bothering to spruce themselves up for a quick trip to the hardware store. The only way I get that freedom is to ignore what other people say or think (which I do…I refuse to put on mascara just because of what some idiot in the grocery store might say).

    I detest the Hollywood youth culture. There is so much life to experience after menopause, why should I feel like mine is over? Men over 50 don’t have that problem, nor should they. I just want the same consideration. I suspect you do, too.

    It’s about time we got some respect for our life experiences. Other cultures revere their elder women, why can’t we?

    PS: Welcome to Ylizaville 🙂


Leave a Reply

